Mount Wutai

Mount Wutai

Mount Wutai is located in the northeast of Wutai County, Xinzhou City, Shanxi Province across Shanxi and Hebei Provinces. The Mount Wutai is seated on the "Ridge of Northern China", and the highest elevation is 3061 m. There are continuous ridges and peaks, staggered lofty mountains, like a tiger crouching a dragon curling, covering a total area of 607 km2. The Mount Wutai is formed by five surrounding peaks. The five peaks stand erect, go beyond the cloud surface, without trees at the top, flat and wide like a soil base, so it was given the name of Wutai. The Mount Wutai has a long culture of Buddhism, beautiful natural scenery, cool, refreshing and pleasant climate, numerous revolutionary sites and abundant geological heritages, and is a tourist scenic spot which is the collection of Buddhist shrine, summer resort, revolution shrine and geological base for science education. The Mount Wutai is now evaluated as: the World Cultural Heritage Site; the King of Four Famous Buddhist Mountains in China; the First Batch of National Level Scenic Area Announced by the State Council; the First Batch of Demonstration Forest Park; one of 35 Tourism Aces launched by China to foreign countries; National 5A scenic area; National Civilized Scenery Tourist Area Demonstration Site; one of Top Ten of the Great Mountains in China; National Geopark; National Natural and Cultural Heritage; the "leader" of development of tourism industry in Shanxi Province.



Wutai County, Xinzhou City, Shanxi Province

Best time to travel


Travel Tips

The Mount Wutai, the Buddhist resort known at home and abroad and the Taoist site of intelligent Manjusri Bodhisattva, and it also ranks the first among the four famous Buddhist Mountains for its long history of temple-building and large scale - so it is known as Golden Wutai which have enjoyed a high reputation in Japan, India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Nepal and other countries.

  • With City attractions